Early years are often referred to as the foundation years of a child's life and is when we see significant change and growth in a young child's development. Throughout these year's children need to be given the absolute best support to enable them to have the best possible outcomes in later life.

As passionate and driven early years practitioners, providing children with the best quality early years education is at the core of our values and forms the basis of our overall mission and aims.

How will your child be learning?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to five years old. This is a very important stage as it helps your child get ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning and successes and support them with their life skills.

Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through seven key areas of learning and development.

Children should mostly develop three prime areas first:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

As your child grow, the prime areas will help them to develop skills in four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understand the World
  • Expression arts and design

These seven areas are used to plan your child's unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary schools, but it's really designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child's individual needs and interests and all based around learning through play.

Children in the EYFS learn by playing and exploring, being active and through creative and critical thinking which takes place both indoors and outside.